NLNG releases 2013 book award shortlist -

Categories: Nigeria News

By Citizens Platform

Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas, NLNG, sponsor of the Nigeria Prize for Literature, Monday, announced an initial shortlist of 11 books, out of 201 books submitted, for the 2013 edition of the prize, which focuses on poetry.

According to the General Manager, External Relations, NLNG, Kudo Eresia-Eke, the list was arrived at after three months of intensive scrutiny by the panel of judges led by a renowned poet and literary critic, Prof. Romanus Egudu of Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu.

Books on the list include Letter Home and Biafran Nights, by Akeh Afam; Eke Iquo’s Symphony of Becoming; Birthcry, Nwakanma Obi; Wild Letters, Ogochukwu Promise and Ede Amatoritsero’s Globetrotter and Hitler’s Children.

Others on the list are Marsh Boy and Other Poems by Egbewo G’ebinyo; Gomba Obari’s Length of Eyes; The Sahara Testaments, Ipadeola Tade; Launko Kinba (pen name for Femi Osofisan), Seven Stations Up the Stairways; Through the Window of a Sandcastle, Nnadi Amu and Sea of My Mind, Raji Remi.

Chairman of the Advisory Board, Emeritus Professor, Ayo Banjo, disclosed that the final shortlist of three and subsequently the winner of the $ 100,000 worth cash prize will be announced in October.

Posted in Nigeria News. A DisNaija.Com network.

Source: Citizens Platform

DisNaija.Com publishes regular posts on Nigeria News, Nigerian Newspapers, Online Nigeria Gist.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Nigeria News

Your Opinion Counts. Be sure To Leave A Comment, If You Have Any.

Please Like, Share or Tweet. Your Support Is Appreciated.

Never miss important Updates. Get all the juicy news & entertainment updates delivered straight to your inbox, weekly. Enter your name & email below, & click the "sign up" button.