INEC Announces Willie Obiano Winner Of The Anambra State Election


Last updated on May 20th, 2018 at 01:19 pm

It was a landslide victory for the incumbent Governor of Anambra State and candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, Willie Obiano, who has emerged the winner of the Anambra State governorship election.

Announcing the result, the  Chief Returning Officer for the election, Professor Zanna Akpagu,said the incumbent governor won in all the 21 local governments of the state with a total of 234,071 votes.

Tony Nwoye, his closest rival and candidates of the All Progressives Congress, APC, ganered 98, 752 votes  While Oseloka Obaze of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP,  came third with  70, 293 votes.

The exercise was carried out on Saturday with candidates of about 37 political parties contesting for the exalted position of the governor of the state.

Leading contenders for the position were candidates of APGA, Obiano; Tony Nwoye of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and Oseloka Obaze of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

The election which witnessed an impressive turn out of voters also boasted of adequate security.

After the collation of the results of the votes from the different local governments of the state on Sunday figures announced showed that Obiano is the winner.


Candidate                    Party                 Votes


Obiano                         APGA               234,071


Nwoye                        APC                    98,752


Obaze                         PDP                    70,293


Chidoka                      UPP                     7, 746



Read more from the publisher: The Sun News

Copyright & credit exclusively reserved for the publisher, referenced above.
Nigeria Newspapers Online syndicates daily Nigerian news
and updates, sourced from major Nigerian newspaper houses online.
A member of DisNaija network: Everything Naija.

Like, Share, Comment and Tweet. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.


Sourced From: Nigeria Newspapers Online

Let's Keep You Informed