AWCON 2018: Super Falcons To Face South Africa, Kenya, Zambia


The draw for this year’s Women’s Africa Cup of Nations was made in Accra on Sunday night with defending champions Nigeria drawn alongside South Africa, Zambia and Kenya in Group B.

Nigeria are the most successful team in the history of the competition, with eight titles from ten editions.

The Super Falcons will open their campaign against South Africa on 18 November in Cape Coast.

Kenya are in Nigeria’s group, replacing Equatorial Guinea who were disqualified for fielding an ineligible player.

The 2018 hosts, Ghana, will face Algeria, Mali and Cameroon in Group A of the showpiece women’s football tournament in Africa.

Ghana will kick off the competition against Algeria at the Accra Sports Stadium on Saturday 17 November, with the final set for 1 December.

Ghana have never won the women’s continental title but have been the losing finalists on three occasions – 1998, 2002 and 2006.

The top two sides in the groups will progress to the semi-finals.

This year’s competition will also produce the African qualifiers for the 2019 Fifa Women’s World Cup.

The top three teams will qualify for the World Cup to be held in France in June next year.



Group A: Ghana (hosts), Algeria, Mali, Cameroon

Group B: Nigeria (holders), South Africa, Zambia, Kenya

Sourced From: SoccerNet NG

Let's Keep You Informed

Leave a Reply